A Birthday That Should Have Been :

I am wishing you a very happy birthday wherever you are. I don’t know what I believe in but I want to believe in something. I want to know that you are enjoying a big slice of your favorite type of cake as balloons float around you. It’s not the same but I need to know you are celebrating still. I couldn’t bring myself to post on your wall. It just goes to an account that’s remained locked for the last year. I couldn’t bring myself to slide across to erase the notification that suggests I send birthday wishes your way. It’s the only notification still left on my phone. This day was only a few days after it happened and it’s all too much. It’s still too much. I never know what to write on birthdays. It always seems too generic..This is far more difficult for me. How do you say happy birthday to someone that’s not even here?

Leave a Reply

